top of page

Interview with an Environmental Crewel Artist

By: Ava H.


Inspired by nature and the built environment, Clara Bowe is a self-taught artist that specializes in crewel embroidery. Some of her amazing artwork includes her crewel piece of Central Park, along with an embroidered sunflower.




1.) Where did you grow up? What was it like there, and what experiences shaped you to be the person you are today?


I lived in Baltimore until I was 15, but I wouldn’t say I grew up there. My movement was very restricted and I spent most of my time playing and daydreaming in the yard, or reading books at the library. I spent hours in the grass and in the trees every day, examining bark, leaves, and grass, as well as any urban wildlife. In truth it was very solitary, but in retrospect I know that this was a huge factor behind my powers of observation, and the depth of my vision. I was fortunate to go to college in Europe and to find work there, and to travel extensively. Eventually I attended grad school in New York, and there I was schooled by the urban infrastructure, and the history in every building and sidewalk. Everywhere I went, I attended museums and walked the park ways, and talked to strangers. I learned a lot about the world and myself, living outside of my comfort zone.


2.) As an environmental artist, what inspires you?


In truth my art is driven by fear as much as it is driven by knowledge and compassion. I want to take care of the earth as much I can but I want to help people protect themselves as well. I know I will see many more extreme weather events and collapsing economies and as an empathetic human, I fear for everyone who is not willing or not equipped to face climate change. I want to know I am doing everything I can, or else I couldn’t sleep at night.


3.) When did you first become interested in crewel?


I started sewing after I left an abusive boyfriend in the summer of 2018. I picked up embroidery to keep myself busy, and found my life’s calling. Ultimately, he almost broke my spirit but I stitched it back together, and made it better. Now when I make anything it do it with joy and appreciation for every day I have.


4.) I love your crewel of Central Park! What inspired you to create this piece, and how is the experience working on it?


I started working on this piece after the death of my grandfather. He was a first generation Italian American who put himself through college by cooking at the Waldorf in Manhattan; then in grad school he worked as an EMT. As an architect, he ended up designing the National Geographic Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts; as my grandfather, he taught me everything about my Italian heritage, and the kitchen. Our family life revolved around the dinner table so it was only natural to make this piece a table runner. I wish he could join me for one more dinner.


5.) Can you elaborate on the environmental message of your Central Park crewel?


The Central Park piece has evolved significantly. My hope is to collaborate with a major public institution, and to offer this piece up for an auction. My goal is to fundraise and found the first food garden in Central Park. If I want to do that, I have to put my money where my mouth is, or in this case, my art.


6.) What advice would you give to other artists that care about sustainability?


Think global, act local! In terms of art, this means getting to know a local space, natural or built, intimately. Revisit your favorite tree or pond often, and stay in touch. You can build your technique and your knowledge by exploring the same subject over and over. The natural world is just as complex as you are, if you are paying attention, and you can always find new and thrilling stories in your local landscape. After a while, this relationship will subconsciously guide your citizenship on the global stage.


7.) How can our readers support your artwork?


I am currently applying to an extremely competitive graduate study program, to learn how to make this garden project happen in New York. I need people to follow my page, and share my work. And I need them to participate in the conversation, whenever that takes place around them. Change happens first on the community level, and I believe that the online community has a lot to gain from working towards environmental justice and most importantly national and global security. I know I have a good idea but I can’t do it alone, no one can.



Thank you to Clara Bowe for partaking in this interview! I hope our readers are inspired by your amazing story and how you persevered through life challenges to make such beautiful environmental art.


Purchase some of Clara's art here



Check out some of Clara's pieces in our Gallery!




bottom of page